“Weeping Sky.”

This is resistance, take two. I hope you like it…but even more, I hope you can reach out to others with greater empathy after you read it.

I owe the phrase “power-mongers” to singer-songwriter Bruce Cockburn, and I adapted the phrase “red calamity” from a line in Tennyson’s “In Memoriam A.H.H.”


Weeping Sky: a Sonnet in Protest against the Passage of the A.H.C.A. in May 2017

The shadows elongate, and fill my heart;

They press their leaden weights upon my chest.

The terror tears my every thought apart,

And fills me with a violent unrest.

A racist, ableist, sexist health-care law

Deprives good people of their dignity,

While power-mongers trade in shock and awe

And feed their souls with red calamity.

I pause for breath. Despite the weeping sky,

And gloomy news that makes me feel dismayed,

I’ll face grim chaos with an open eye,

And let no thieving thugs make me afraid.

I pray for equity, and won’t relent.

From Trump’s new health-care bill, I here dissent.

2 thoughts on ““Weeping Sky.”

  1. I love how the poem and the reflection you wrote have the same subject, but the different forms work in different ways to cast light on what you’re say.

    Let’s hope that soon we can see the light at the end of this long, dark tunnel of current events!

Leave a Reply

